





Dear members,

We are pleased to announce that on Thursday, July 6th, 2023, Governor Mike Parson signed Senate Bill 24 into law.

In addition to several other public-safety related topics, Senate Bill 24 recognizes the position of Public Safety Telecommunicator, a position defined in RSMO 650.340 as being "any person employed as an emergency telephone worker, call taker or public safety dispatcher whose duties include receiving, processing or transmitting public safety information received through a 911 public safety answering point" as well as Missouri State Highway Patrol Communications Operators as first responders.

The recognition and reclassification defined in Senate Bill 24 does not cover agency-level decisions such as retirement, pay or leave benefits. The reclassification will allow public-safety telecommunicators to access mental health services through a grant pool also established in this bill.

In addition to the reclassification, Senate Bill 24 accomplished several other legislative priorities of the Associations including transferring EMD rulemaking authority from the Department of Health to the Missouri 911 Service Board, the creation of a mental health fund for first responders and securing additional funding for the build out Next Generation 9-1-1 and related GIS projects in Missouri.

As Senate Bill 24 did not include an emergency clause that would require it go into effect immediately upon signing, it will go into effect on August 28<sup>th</sup>, 2023.

The Missouri Chapters of the Association of Public Safety Communications Officials (APCO) and the National Emergency Number Association (NENA) as well as the Missouri 911 Directors Association would like to commend Association lobbyist Mr. Scott Penman and Ms. Kaycee Nail of Penman Group for their hard work and dedication during this legislative session. Without Mr. Penman and Ms. Nail, this change would have likely taken longer than two legislative sessions to get passed.

We would also like to thank the legislative sponsors of these priorities including Senators Hough and Gannon as well as Representatives Perkins and Sauls. Without their efforts on our behalf, none of these priorities would have made it to the floor, let alone the Governor's desk. If you are a constituent of one of these delegates, please reach out and pass on your gratitude. We are also thankful to Governor Parson for seeing and agreeing with the need laid out in these priorities.

The leadership of the three Associations would also like to thank the members of the Inter-association Legislative Taskforce, those who travelled to Jefferson City to testify before the Senate Committee and the members of the Associations who attended the legislative day in April. Your involvement and advocacy is much appreciated and helped to enact this change.

The leadership of the three Associations will continue to advocate on your behalf for the betterment of Missouri's Emergency Communications profession and the continuing buildout of Missouri's Next Generation 9-1-1 Infrastructure. We also invite and welcome each of you to be advocates to help promote the Missouri Emergency Communications profession.

Let us be the first to say congratulations Missouri First Responders! This recognition is well deserved!

Sincerely,

Zachary Dykes

President, Missouri APCO

Jamie Taylor

President, Missouri NENA

Jeff Holman

President, Missouri 911DA